How to use Recovery Mode to restore Mac from a Time Machine backup

Time Machine is a great tool that allows you to back up all your files to an external drive so that you can restore them later. Restoring your Mac from Time Machine backup is pretty simple, and you can do this through the Recovery Mode on your Mac.

Basically, Recovery Mode includes all the tools you need to fix errors that you may encounter on your Mac. Besides, the mode allows you to repair disk errors, set a firmware password and more.

Note that restoring your backup means that you will lose all the changes you have made on the OS X version you are using. Therefore, we recommend you back up all your personal files on an external drive or on other partition. Remember that once you have initiated the restore, there is no way that your data will be recovered.

In this tutorial, we will show you how to restore the backup you have created in Time Machine Backup by using the Recovery Mode on your Mac.

Here is how you restore Time Machine backup by entering the Recovery Mode:

Step 1: First and foremost, make sure you have your Time Machine backup disk connected and turned on.

Step 2: Access the Apple menu and click on Restart.

Step 3: Hold down the Command – R combination while your Mac restarts, and hold the keys until you see the Apple logo. This step will take you to the Recovery Mode.

30

Step 4: Wait a few minutes until the Mac OS X Utility appears.

31

Step 5: Click the Restore From Time Machine Backup from the Utility window. Once it is done, click Continue.

Step 6: All you have to do is to select the external backup disk that contains the backup. Once it is done, click Continue.

Note that you can restore Time Machine backup using a Time Capsule or network backup disk. Restoring your Mac this way requires you to enter the name and password that are used to connect to the backup disk.

Step 7: Wait until your Mac scans your disk. Once it is done, select the Time Machine Backup, and follow the instructions. Besides, you can select the data and time of the backup before moving forward. Note that restoring your system may take a while.

That’s simple! As mentioned above, using Recovery Mode to restore Time Machine backup will wipe off everything on your current OS X, so remember to back up your personal files before moving ahead.

Don’t forget to share with us if this guide works best for you in the comment section below.

Was this article helpful?
YesNo
Categories Mac
About John Smith